On Losing Hope

20 Jul

I am not sure if I can do this blog anymore. I am not sure if I  have anything positive to say anymore. I am tired. I am tired of looking for a job. I am tired of reading advice on LinkedIn, resumes, cover letters, and job search tips. I am tired of being rejected. I am tired of not having a “normal life” and I don’t know when it is going to change. I wish I knew the answer of what to do differently or what other path to follow. I am tired of feeling like there is no stability in my life.

I wish I could say that having a degree or a master’s degree mattered, but I am not sure that it does. I wish I could say that all you have to do is work hard and you’ll be ok, but I am not sure that I believe that anymore. I don’t know what to do next or what else to try.

I wish I had better news to share or more inspirational words. I just want to have a career again. I don’t want to have to be strong anymore, I just want my life back.

16 Responses to “On Losing Hope”

  1. biancarodriguez00 July 20, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

    I know how you feel, truly I do. I started a vlog here and haven’t posted for months, due to being very lost and depressed. We moved country for a better life and now the job my husband moved for, made him redundant. I have been unemployed since the move in early feb. we have an eighteen month old daughter. Things were hard before and I don’t know what to call them now. My birthday is on Tuesday, there will be no celebration. I walk around in clothes that have paint stains from a life where we lived in our own home that we loved and tended to. I get people looki g at me as if to wonder why I look so ragged. I used to be that nicely dressed person with a career and a sense of inclusion in this world. I know the rejection and the confusion and all the personalised cover letters, cvs and networking efforts. I know the desperation to have a routine again, for normalicy and to feel like you know where your life is going. I know how it feels to cry alone and in desperation. I just want you to not give up. Do something, anything besides giving up. You are not alone.

    • Savvy Career July 21, 2013 at 10:56 pm #

      Thank you for your kind comment. I hope that you and your husband find what you are looking for soon! Yes, the feeling of not having a routine or a sense of normalcy is very difficult to deal with. I never it my wildest dreams thought that it would take this long to find a job when the recession supposedly ended years ago. I know that I will find something eventually because I have seen it happen for other people and I have to believe that it will happen for me also.

  2. Michael Terry July 21, 2013 at 7:47 am #

    Your words today express how I felt yesterday, have been doing all the “right” things for three years and still find myself underemployed at big box store. I have lots of education and lots of skills…maybe its my age (56), maybe its my personality (INTJ)…but I’m still the same person (actually, even better) who has been well employed for most of my life. And so are you. We have to stop waiting to be picked and pick ourselves. I know, easier said then done, but the alternatives are more limited. Your blog has done for me what you set out to do, let others know they’re not alone. Thank you! It’s valued.

    • Savvy Career July 21, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

      Michael, thanks for your comment! I am glad that this blog has allowed you to not feel so alone in your journey. I hope that you are able to find the kind of of job that you are looking for. I do think age discrimination in this country is real, but I have seen stories where people do find good career jobs after several years of underemployment or underemployment. There are far too many smart and talented people who are underutilized!

  3. Kevin T George July 21, 2013 at 9:55 am #

    Hang in there Lisa. It will come. You are articulate, bright and persistent. All great qualities. Happy to chat if you want to get an outsider’s perspective and kick some ideas around.

    Kevin

    • Savvy Career July 21, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

      Thanks Kevin! I appreciate it!

      • Kevin T George July 22, 2013 at 7:56 am #

        Hi Lisa, have you been conducting informational interviews at taregted companies? Are you involved with Job Clubs 2 or 3 times a week? Have you looked at funds available for training? Have you taken the NCRC?

        Kevin

      • Savvy Career July 24, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

        Kevin,

        Yes, I have done a lot of informational interviews. I just recently got involved with a job search group and have found that to be helpful. I don’t think I would qualify for funds for training becuase I left my job. I wasn’t laid off.

  4. Kelly July 21, 2013 at 10:38 pm #

    Lisa,

    I know exactly how you feel, as I was feeling exactly the same way a couple of weeks ago, after being rejected (yet again) for a job I really wanted. And I’ve not blogged much myself lately. You are not alone!

    A couple of friends got me re-energized to not give up on my job search by suggesting other networking options I had not tried before. (One was a support group for unemployed people, another was utilizing some services available through a state employment office.) Doesn’t really matter what it is – try something new, it will lead to new ideas on how to approach your search..

    Have you had the opportunity to do some volunteer work? That can open up options, both in terms of building new skills and making new connections, but also in finding an outlet for your frustrations by doing something of benefit to you and others.

    The main thing is to not give up. You have a lot to offer, which is obvious given the time and effort you put into your writing. Somewhere there’s a job with your name on it, and it’s just a matter of time before you find it. You’ve inspired me that I need to start blogging again, at least once in awhile.

    • Savvy Career July 21, 2013 at 11:13 pm #

      Kelly,

      I have been wondering how your job search is going. So sorry to hear about your recent rejection. It can be so hard to deal with the multiple rejections. I hope that you find the right position for you soon.

      I have attended a support group a couple of times and it was very helpful. For me it is helpful to feel not alone and to know that there are so many other people dealing with the same thing. When I attended the group, the room was packed full of smart and talented people who were all looking for jobs. I have not tried the unemployment office. Did you find it helpful?

      I have done some volunteering which has been very rewarding and I will be doing more. It is nice to feel valued, and feel like you are doing something positive.

      I won’t give up, although there are many days when I feel like throwing in the towel. Thanks for the kind words. I really love writing, but I may stop blogging about this topic. I am so tired or reading about unemployment, job searching and anything related to resumes, linkedin, cover letters, networking etc.

  5. Razwana July 23, 2013 at 8:28 am #

    Hi Lisa,

    Admittedly, I haven’t read all the posts on this blog, so the answer to my question may be a search away – what kind of job are you looking for? What are you offering an employer? I’d love to read more about this. It would give the blog another angle as well.

    Razwana

  6. Clara July 23, 2013 at 3:59 pm #

    I can’t pretend I understand what you are experiencing. I know that I have faced some difficult challenges in my life and words really never made me feel better. Only time made the difficulties bearable. I do know that knowing others cared for me gave me the strength to meet each day. I care.
    Clara

    • Savvy Career July 24, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

      Thank you Clara. That means a lot to me! I know that I have a lot of people rooting for me, and I know that I am not alone in going through this.

  7. Corey R Jacksonor July 24, 2013 at 3:12 pm #

    Be Lifted, Be Grateful, You are able to write words. On a computer. With the Internet. With Electricity To Lighten The Dark And My Goodness. You probably having a flushing toilet. Perspective is a valuable tool when looking at the bigger picture of things. Time is what I have found to be the most difficult question. It’s been only since July 10th that I was ” terminated ” after nearly a decade on/off with the same company. ” Carry on just a little bit longer and I am going to give you what you need. ” Be Free… Synchronicity and The Power of Now. A song play’s on the radio saying these words as I type.. DMB 102.1 here in SD. Counting Blessings. Be Well…Be Happy…

    • Savvy Career July 24, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

      Thank you for your comment Corey. Perspective is valuable, and yes I am much better off than many people around the world.

Leave a Reply

Seth Godin's Blog on marketing, tribes and respect

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Nic Freeman

Sharing the wonders of travel & everyday adventures

The Unwitting Traveller

Opportunistic Travel Photography and Occasional Geo-Tourism

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

The Traveling Writer

Alexis Grant on writing, travel & other adventures

Gigaom

Technology news, trends and analysis covering mobile, big data, cloud, science, energy and media

Goins, Writer

On Writing, Ideas, and Making a Difference

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

foldedspace

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Comments for Copyblogger

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Mr. Money Mustache

Early Retirement through Badassity

ProBlogger

Blog Tips to Help You Make Money Blogging - ProBlogger

JobMob

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Change Your Life | The Change Blog

How to change your life

CAREEREALISM

Career and Job Search Blog

Freelance Folder

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

