A Change in Momentum

21 Jun

Maybe its the fresh mountain air getting to my head, but I feel that a change in momentum is upon me. A break from my usual surroundings and a step back from the job search grind has allowed me to gain a fresh perspective. What is different now that allows me to foresee a change in momentum?

1) The Economy Continues to Improve

Across the country in many states, the jobs data continues to improve. Of course it matters what types of jobs are being created, and whether or not jobs are being created in your field. It isn’t all good news, and there is still a lot of room for improvement, but generally speaking things seem to be trending in a positive direction.

2) I am Wiser

I am so much better prepared and informed about job searching in this economy. As I have stumbled my way through the new (and not necessarily improved) world of online applications, screening interviews, and job skills tests, I have learned a lot. I know more now about how to market myself and stand out from the crowd.

3) New Tools in the Toolbox

I’ve got new tools in my toolbox such as blogging, freelance writing, and social media. Although these might not be directly related to the types of positions that I am pursuing, it is a reminder to myself of how much I love learning and will continue to add new skills to my toolbox. I’ve dabbled in learning html through codeacademy, and tested out online learning on Coursera.

4) I haven’t Ruled out Additional Education

As I mentioned above, I love learning and I haven’t ruled out getting additional formal education to add to my skill set. We constantly hear about how there is a shortage of workers in the STEM fields, and there aren’t enough qualified Americans to fill these positions. How much of this is H-1B hype, or a true characterization of the lack of skills, I can’t  say. But, I do know that I am not opposed to getting additional education if that is what it takes in this economy. I’ve considered certificates in project management, business analysis, technical writing, or a mini-MBA. So far I haven’t pulled the trigger on getting additional education, but if that is what is necessary, I’ll do what it takes to get where I need to be. A certificate may not be the silver bullet, but having additional skills certainly can’t hurt.

5) I am Ready

In truth, I think I needed a career break. Although the break has turned out to be much longer that what I had planned, and taken me down a different path than I anticipated, I am ready to jump back in. I ready not just for the sake of getting a healthy paycheck, but because I believe that I have something valuable to contribute.

6) I am Letting Go, but Not Giving Up

I am letting go of the past job applications that didn’t lead to interviews, interviews that didn’t lead to offers, and networking meetings that didn’t lead to additional connections. I am letting go of it all and starting anew. I am letting go of the expectations of what I thought I would be doing or what I should be doing. I am letting go, but I am not giving up.

7) I am Open to New Possibility

I am accepting that my life doesn’t look the way that I thought it would, but I am opening myself up to greater possibilities for the life that I am living. I am open to new things coming into my life that may look different from what I had envisioned. I am open and ready for the exciting things that are ahead of me.

Do you feel a change in your momentum? What sparked your change?

4 Responses to “A Change in Momentum”

  1. Vishnu June 23, 2013 at 10:07 pm #

    I definitely see a change in momentum coming your way, Lisa:) and have for months now. I think you’re sharpening all these tools you mentioned for your next big jump! And having the additional insight helps too. You’ve probably had more growth and learning about yourself than you wanted but it’s all helpful and makes you wiser, no? Whoever said wisdom comes easily! Probably no one. It takes struggle and life experiences.

    Usually when I’ve gone through periods like this in my life (career breaks) big big things come my way soon after. It’s almost like you have space now in your life for something wonderful to come into it. Sometimes a change in scenery sparked the change. Sometimes, an internal change in attitude or motivation sparked it. And when we work harder and reach more within ourselves, the ‘universe’ seems to be more cooperative:) lol

    • Savvy Career June 26, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

      Thanks Vishnu:) Yes, I think I am much wiser now! I am ready for some wonderful things to come into my life!

  2. Razwana July 2, 2013 at 1:44 am #

    Agree with Vishnu! And it is great to see this journey opening up. We can read a lot about the aftermath of the journey and reflections on it. But rarely do we get to see the inner workings.

    Cannot wait to see where this takes you, Lisa !

Leave a Reply

Seth Godin's Blog on marketing, tribes and respect

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Nic Freeman

Sharing the wonders of travel & everyday adventures

The Unwitting Traveller

Opportunistic Travel Photography and Occasional Geo-Tourism

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

The Traveling Writer

Alexis Grant on writing, travel & other adventures

Gigaom

Technology news, trends and analysis covering mobile, big data, cloud, science, energy and media

Goins, Writer

On Writing, Ideas, and Making a Difference

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

foldedspace

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Comments for Copyblogger

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Mr. Money Mustache

Early Retirement through Badassity

ProBlogger

Blog Tips to Help You Make Money Blogging - ProBlogger

JobMob

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Change Your Life | The Change Blog

How to change your life

CAREEREALISM

Career and Job Search Blog

Freelance Folder

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

