A Respite from the Journey

19 Jun

I miss my passport (using it that is). I still have it with me but currently it only serves as a reminder of the wonderful travel experiences that I have had, and a tease of how I might fill the pages in the future. There are so many more places that I want to explore, foreign and strange foods that I want to eat, and smells of far away cities that I want to take in.

The world has been opened up to me through travel, and I know that I will have the opportunity to do it again. When the world has been opened up to you, and your view and choices expanded, it can be more difficult to know which direction to take. The life that I had before traveling doesn’t seem to “fit” anymore, and the life I thought I would be living this year has turned out to  be completely different from what I expected.

Rather than continuing to travel, I have spent a lot of time at home, living frugally, and in job search mode. I have had a lot of “quality” time with myself without the usual distractions of work and routine. During the most difficult of circumstances you really have to embrace who you are and have faith that your gifts and talents will once again get you to where you want to be.

I have found myself in recent weeks needing to continually remind myself that it will get better. It will get better. I will travel again, and have a challenging job again. And, I will have the other things that I want in my life as well. Although I haven’t used my passport, I am fortunate in that I was able to get away for a bit from home to recharge my batteries. Getting away has helped to give me some perspective on what I have been through, and where I am going.

If you are able to, change your surroundings for a brief time to give yourself a break. Stay with a friend or a relative, take a respite from your journey, and get a different perspective. Honor what you have been through, reflect on what you have done, and know that you are strong enough to get to where you want to be.

7 Responses to “A Respite from the Journey”

  1. Vishnu June 20, 2013 at 2:12 am #

    Lisa – you’re absolutely right as far as getting away for a bit. When working or not, it’s always good to have a change in scenery to change perspective and be around different people and places. And a good way to recharge your batteries and motivation!

    You’re not using your passport very much or doing a lot of international travel. True. But you are going within and traveling to places within yourself that you’ve probably never visited before:) LOL – i couldn’t resist that analogy. Happy travels – the journey within will gift you clarity, understanding and growth. And it’s free:)

    • Savvy Career June 21, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

      Vishnu, yes the change of scenery has been great for recharing my batteries and my motivation. I have had plenty of time to travel within myself true. It may be free but it isn’t as much fun as using my passport:)

  2. Kelly June 20, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

    There are also lots of places you can visit nearby without spending lots of money, especially in the summer!

    • Savvy Career June 21, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

      Kelly, true there are lots of local places to explore and enjoy!

  3. Napoleon Nalcot June 21, 2013 at 1:58 am #

    Sometimes the journey that we need is not really in going places or seeing beautiful vistas, but within. Because “the real voyage of discovery,” to quote from Marcel Proust, “consists not in seeing new landscapes, but in having new eyes.”

  4. Napoleon Nalcot June 21, 2013 at 2:01 am #

    Sometimes the journey that we need is not really in going places or seeing beautiful vistas, but within. Because “the real voyage of discovery,” to quote from Marcel Proust, “consists not in seeing new landscapes, but in having new eyes.” Good luck on your journey to self discovery!

    • Savvy Career June 21, 2013 at 12:20 pm #

      Napoleon, thanks for your comment. I love that quote. I have found that as I have slowed my life down, I do see things from a different perspective. I notice and appreciate the small things more.

Leave a Reply

Seth Godin's Blog on marketing, tribes and respect

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Nic Freeman

Sharing the wonders of travel & everyday adventures

The Unwitting Traveller

Opportunistic Travel Photography and Occasional Geo-Tourism

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

The Traveling Writer

Alexis Grant on writing, travel & other adventures

Gigaom

Technology news, trends and analysis covering mobile, big data, cloud, science, energy and media

Goins, Writer

On Writing, Ideas, and Making a Difference

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

foldedspace

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Comments for Copyblogger

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Mr. Money Mustache

Early Retirement through Badassity

ProBlogger

Blog Tips to Help You Make Money Blogging - ProBlogger

JobMob

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Change Your Life | The Change Blog

How to change your life

CAREEREALISM

Career and Job Search Blog

Freelance Folder

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

