Am I Knocking on the Right Door?

28 Apr

Sometimes I wonder, is “the universe” trying to tell me something? Am I supposed to be living somewhere else? Am I supposed to be doing something else? When you keep knocking on the same door without an answer, do you keep knocking on the same door or find a different door to open?

Sometimes I fantasize about selling all of my belongings and moving to Bolivia. Why Bolivia? I have never been to Bolivia, but I saw a “House Hunters International” episode about a couple who had moved to Bolivia to volunteer and rented a cute, little apartment for $250/month. So, maybe I could live in Bolivia, do freelance writing, and improve my Spanish. Is this the door that I am supposed to open?

For now the Bolivia door will have to wait. I still want a career here in the U.S.  I want to use my skills, to be challenged, to grow, to contribute. But, which door to I need to knock on to find that opportunity?

I think one of the biggest challenges in this whole process is figuring out where to focus the effort in your job search. One of the biggest traps that we fall into as job seekers is that we waste time on opportunities that we aren’t really all that interested in, but the opportunity may seem like a “safe” option. The fear and uncertainty lead us in directions that may not ultimately be right for us.

We try knocking on so many different doors that the focus of our search gets lost, and the true intention of our purpose is not able to shine through. Are you knocking on too many doors? How will you know if you are knocking on the right door? Don’t let the fear and uncertainty guide you. Find moments of stillness and mindfulness, and listen to your intuition.

When you find the right door, it will open for you.

photo credit: Lucy Nieto via photopin cc

11 Responses to “Am I Knocking on the Right Door?”

  1. bpwelchonpeace April 28, 2013 at 10:19 am #

    This is so true for me and something with which I’ve been struggling. One of my biggest problems is quieting my brain long enough to find an answer.

    • Lisa M. April 30, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

      Thank your comment. Yes, I also struggle with quieting my brain! I do yoga and that helps, but it is still a struggle sometimes.

  2. Vishnu April 28, 2013 at 10:50 am #

    hey Lisa – we should knock on the door to the right house. And sometimes we don’t know which house that is. But it’s a combination of life, experience, previous jobs and our intentions that help guide us to the right place. I’ve actually said ‘no’ to jobs, said ‘no’ to second interviews and left jobs that were not right.

    We just have to keep moving forward, picking up lessons and experiences, and before you know it, you’ll be at your purpose.

    I didn’t have all the answers at the beginning but with more time, experience, received more clarity. Now I have a much better idea of which door to knock on and which doors I want opened:)

    • Lisa M. April 30, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

      Hey Vishnu, thanks for your comment! With all of the great advice that I have received, I am hopeful that I will be able to get the right door to open!

  3. Razwana April 29, 2013 at 1:10 am #

    Hi Lisa. I understand how long-term job hunting can lead to two things – a desperation to take anything that pays the bills (this isn’t a bad thing) or a constant questioning of ‘is there a reason why all of this isn’t working’.

    I guess we never know which door is the ‘right’ one, until it’s opened and we experience what’s on the other side.

    – Razwana

    • Lisa M. April 30, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

      Hi Razwana,

      Thanks for your comment!

      I agree that it isn’t bad to take anything to pay the bills for a while. But, I think it is problematic when we don’t focus our job search efforts. The desparate feeling often leads to just applying for lots fo jobs randomly rather than focusing on the jobs that we have the best change of getting, or will be the most rewarding.

      Yes, I guess we don’t really know which is the right door until it is opened and we walk through it.

  4. Rebecca Fraser-Thill April 29, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

    If you can narrow such that you have a sense of which doors (broadly speaking) you *might* want to open, then a good strategy may be to knock on as many doors of those as you can, without getting emotionally invested or overly hopeful about any given one. My students who are searching for work after graduation often spend tons of time searching for the two or three jobs that they’d LOVE to have. They pour so much energy into that that they end up with no job offers because the likelihood of one of three applications turning into an offer are slim to none. I plan to post on this topic – using base rate to your advantage – in the coming week or two. Will link back to you!

    • Lisa M. April 30, 2013 at 6:45 pm #

      Hi Rebecca,

      Thanks for your comment. Yes, I think the key is not to get too emotionally invested or hopeful becuase it can be really difficult to deal with the rejection. It is difficult to find the right balance between applying for lots of jobs (but not too many) and focusing efforts on the jobs or companies where we would like to work. I am learning a lot during this process! Looking forward to your post on this topic!

  5. ricksamer66 April 29, 2013 at 12:59 pm #

    A lot of people are out there looking. It’s a quiet mass of people that should do more to be heard!

    • Lisa M. April 30, 2013 at 6:46 pm #

      Thanks for your comment Rick! Yes, there are so many people looking all over the world.

  6. ricksamer66 April 29, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

    Know you’re not alone. Here’s my experiences
    http://wp.me/p2r4Dq-1X

Leave a Reply

Seth Godin's Blog on marketing, tribes and respect

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Nic Freeman

Sharing the wonders of travel & everyday adventures

The Unwitting Traveller

Opportunistic Travel Photography and Occasional Geo-Tourism

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

The Traveling Writer

Alexis Grant on writing, travel & other adventures

Gigaom

Technology news, trends and analysis covering mobile, big data, cloud, science, energy and media

Goins, Writer

On Writing, Ideas, and Making a Difference

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

foldedspace

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Comments for Copyblogger

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Mr. Money Mustache

Early Retirement through Badassity

ProBlogger

Blog Tips to Help You Make Money Blogging - ProBlogger

JobMob

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Change Your Life | The Change Blog

How to change your life

CAREEREALISM

Career and Job Search Blog

Freelance Folder

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

