10 Things I Am Thankful For

15 Apr

On a dreary April Monday, when winter hasn’t let go of its grip, and unemployment is still front and center, it easy to forget everything that we have to be thankful for. Although I haven’t found my next career position yet, and I am more than ready to be working, I am thankful for many things in  my life.

1) My Family

My family has been incredibly supportive during this time, cheering me up when needed, standing by me, and believing in me. I am fortunate that I have such a loving family.

2) The Generosity of Friends

I have had so many friends who have been graciously generous to me during this time-treating me to happy hours, lunches and dinners out-knowing that this time of unemployment will only be temporary. But they have been generous not only with their wallets, but also with their hearts-taking the time to give me a pep talk when needed, or give me a reality check when necessary-and for that I am thankful.

3) Yoga

I absolutely love yoga and all of its benefits. During this time I have been able to deepen my yoga practice and I know that it is something I will continue for my lifetime. I have gotten stronger, and although yoga is not supposed to be competitive, I can’t help but get excited when I learn a new pose or master one that I had previously struggled with. But, maybe the best thing about yoga, at least for me right now, is that I can do it for free in the comfort of my own home. You don’t need a fancy gym membership to do yoga.

4) My “Niece and Nephew”

I absolutely love these kids and they bring so much joy to my life. When I go over to their house I am often greeted with cheers, and their bubbly excitement of having me there. Wouldn’t it be great if we got that reception everywhere that we went?

5) My Home

My home keeps me grounded at a time when everything else seems uncertain. I worked hard to buy this home and although its lost value since I bought it, I don’t regret my decision to purchase it. I am thankful to have a beautiful place to live.

6) Nourishment

I sometimes have to remind myself that there are so many people who are far worse off than me. I have never had to face not having food on the table or wondering where I am going to sleep at night. I didn’t anticipate going through something like this, but I am still far better off than so many people.

7) Life Experience

I know that this time in my life is going to change me in ways that I can’t even see yet. I may be more frugal going forward, or maybe more appreciative of the small things in life. I already know that this experience has made me stronger, and for that I am thankful.

8) Books and Writers

I love to read and it’s another activity that I can appreciate for free during this time. I recently finished Wild by Cheryl Strayed, and I just started Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. Books are a great way to escape, at least temporarily, from the stresses of unemployment.

9) My Health

I am fortunate that I have always been pretty healthy, but I know that it is something that can change at any time. I can still run, and jump, and do yoga and get outside to be active and for that I am thankful.

10) Free WordPress Blogs and Writing

I debated whether or not to start a blog about being unemployed, but it has helped me tremendously. I love to write and this blog has been a great outlet for me. I am thankful that it is so easy to set up a blog and it has allowed me to rekindle my love for writing.

That is just a small list of the things that I am thankful for on this Monday. What are you thankful for?

5 Responses to “10 Things I Am Thankful For”

  1. curlieclips April 16, 2013 at 2:45 am #

    Just lovely. Counting my blessings is on my to do list. I enjoyed reading yours.

    • Lisa M. April 17, 2013 at 5:36 pm #

      Thank you curlieclips!

  2. Blanche April 17, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

    So glad you wrote this. I’m having one of those times of serious doubt. I found out yesterday I did not get a job that I not only need, but it is a job that I would have loved. I’m running out of money and I’m terrified, but then I remember that I have a family, friends and a beautiful dog who love me and that I am eating and have enough to get through one more month of unemployment. I may have to give up my apartment at some point, but at least I have a kind and generous brother in the same neighborhood who has already told me I can live at his place if worse comes to worse. Some people don’t have that. My heart goes out to them. It makes my terror wane when I realize that I have a net to catch me.

    • Lisa M. April 17, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

      Thank you Blanche. I am so sorry to hear that you did not get the job that you wanted. Keep hope and faith that there will be another job that is the right one for you. I know how difficult it can be to deal with the disappointment. I have been there, and certainly had days of doubt. Yes, we are fortunate that we do have a net to catch us when many do not. Don’t give up. You will get through this!

  3. Vishnu April 18, 2013 at 1:43 am #

    Enjoyed this post Lisa – yes, so much to be thankful and grateful even when things are not going our way completely. The small things are big things. I am thankful for many of the things you’re thankful for but more recently, enjoying the advocacy work I do, writing for my blog and meeting a lot of great people online and offline. Also, I’m thankful for the lessons learned when I wasn’t working and the skills I developed and people I met during that time. Finally, appreciative that i have more purpose and passion in what I’m doing now a days. Feels like I had no clue before – now, I’m seeing more clarity in my future and what I want to do with my life. We can’t ever get enough of thankfulness – hope you’re doing what a lot of people tell me to do – write a list of these ten new things everyday!

Leave a Reply

Seth Godin's Blog on marketing, tribes and respect

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Nic Freeman

Sharing the wonders of travel & everyday adventures

The Unwitting Traveller

Opportunistic Travel Photography and Occasional Geo-Tourism

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

The Traveling Writer

Alexis Grant on writing, travel & other adventures

Gigaom

Technology news, trends and analysis covering mobile, big data, cloud, science, energy and media

Goins, Writer

On Writing, Ideas, and Making a Difference

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

foldedspace

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Comments for Copyblogger

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Mr. Money Mustache

Early Retirement through Badassity

ProBlogger

Blog Tips to Help You Make Money Blogging - ProBlogger

JobMob

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Change Your Life | The Change Blog

How to change your life

CAREEREALISM

Career and Job Search Blog

Freelance Folder

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

