On Being Strong

26 Mar

I have tried to be strong throughout this job search process and all of the other transition that I have experienced this past year. I’ve willed myself to learn new skills, to volunteer, to start a blog, to keep networking, and to continue the job search. But, today I don’t feel strong. Today I don’t have it in me to be strong.  Today I just want my life back. Today I want to be excited because I have a reason to get up early, to go to my interesting, and challenging  job. Today I want to have a reason to use hair products, possibly even use an iron, and maybe wear something other than my tennis shoes. Today I want to enjoy a lunch out with friends without having to calculate how much longer I can live on my savings. Today I want to be able to buy Manchego cheese and not worry about whether or not I can afford something more extravagant than two (now three) buck chuck. Today I am not strong and that’s ok.

I will be strong again tomorrow.

photo credit: JD | Photography via photopin cc

12 Responses to “On Being Strong”

  1. Mandi March 26, 2013 at 2:48 pm #

    You can do it.

    I know exactly, precisely how you feel. When you hold an intellectual with someone about a topic not presented on Facebook, or when you come home and watch tv because you’re too tired to do anything else, not because the chores are finished and you have some downtime today.

    You can do it. .
    XOXO
    Mandi

  2. FarmingtonGlenn March 26, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

    Hang in there Lisa. We all have a lot of days like this. Thanks for sharing yours. It’ll remind me I have company next time I have one.

    • Lisa M. March 27, 2013 at 9:20 am #

      Thank you FarmingtonGlenn. Yes, it is nice to feel like we are not alone, but here’s to hoping we both have less and less of these days, and more days to celebrate good news!

  3. Mark Zipoli March 26, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

    We will get through this, Lisa, we will. We’re going to feel bad and lose our momentum but it will come back, and we will get through this, it’s how the middle class, the working class, the poor, gets through It. We after all are responsible for the tax base; the rich certainly aren’t going to pay their fair share; it us who have to do it; in order to do it, we have to work. Right? How many times the little squirrel of a chest pain darts in and out, or the sweat on my forehead collects at a moment’s notice because, Oh My God, I’m 57 and unemployed. Yes, tomorrow will be better. And I hate sounding like Scarlet OHara but there it is.

    • Lisa M. March 27, 2013 at 9:22 am #

      Thanks Mark, I appreciate the support. The only choice is to keep plugging along and know that eventually something will work out. I wish you the best.

  4. Blanche March 27, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

    I know exactly how you feel. I had that day two days ago after getting a post interview rejection. I also am dealing with a landlord who is doing renovations and wants me to vacate, so I have the additional stress of needing to find an apartment when I’m unemployed. I gave myself one day to feel sorry for myself. I needed it. I cried and laid in bed most of the day. But then I got up the next day and got to work on a new job application. I realize I always feel better when I am working on a future rather than lying around. It’s just accepting that I have no control over when that future will happen and that’s hard. I will run out of savings soon. I am just so glad that I have friends and family who love me. I would not get through this without them.

    • Lisa M. March 27, 2013 at 3:08 pm #

      Blanche, I am sorry to hear about your interview and the move. I have found that my most difficult days are after I get my hopes up for something. Hang in there! I always feel better too when I am being proactive, but struggle with have no control of when the next opportunity will come along. I am trying to deal with that my trying to create my own opportunities in addition to continuting to search for a full-time position. Something good will come out of this.

  5. Razwana March 28, 2013 at 12:24 am #

    Lisa – if we all knew how this would end, it wouldn’t be half as challenging or thought-provoking. You ARE strong – you are living with a lot of pressure and STILL find it within you to create and promote this blog.

    Hats of to you Lisa!

    – Razwana

  6. Donna April 17, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

    I lost my job in 2011 and have been looking for a new position ever since. I have taken what few temp jobs there are trying to pay the bills, but the bills finally caught up with me. I am now living in a shelter hoping that things get better.
    The few interviews that I have had always end up in rejection notices, or I get rejected just applying for jobs. I have applied for Encore jobs and nothing.
    I am thinking about going back to school to learn a new life, but there is no way that I would ever be able to pay for it. Loans are out of the question. No money to pay them back.
    However, I don’t feel sorry for myself at all. When I look around at the families and children that I am living with, these are the people I feel sorry for. I know I will get out if this.

    • Lisa M. April 18, 2013 at 9:47 am #

      Donna, I am so sorry to hear about your situation. Know that you are not alone. You have such a great attitude and I know you will persevere. Does your state/county/city have grants to pay for going back to school or re-training?

Leave a Reply

Seth Godin's Blog on marketing, tribes and respect

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Nic Freeman

Sharing the wonders of travel & everyday adventures

The Unwitting Traveller

Opportunistic Travel Photography and Occasional Geo-Tourism

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

The Traveling Writer

Alexis Grant on writing, travel & other adventures

Gigaom

Technology news, trends and analysis covering mobile, big data, cloud, science, energy and media

Goins, Writer

On Writing, Ideas, and Making a Difference

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

foldedspace

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Comments for Copyblogger

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Mr. Money Mustache

Early Retirement through Badassity

ProBlogger

Blog Tips to Help You Make Money Blogging - ProBlogger

JobMob

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Change Your Life | The Change Blog

How to change your life

CAREEREALISM

Career and Job Search Blog

Freelance Folder

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

