Build Your Personal Brand

6 Mar

Sometimes I feel like I have been living under a rock for the past few years. Personal branding? When did this come about? Have you heard of about.me? I hadn’t until just recently. Do you twitter, Facebook, do LinkedIn? What about pintrest, instagram, YouTube, and google+? The options can be overwhelming, especially if you are a newbie.

I won’t claim to be an expert on personal branding as I am just learning how to navigate developing one myself. But, what I will offer you is some of the resources and information that I have discovered on personal branding that will hopefully give you some things to consider as you think about your own personal brand.

Personal Branding 101

Dan Schawbel has branded himself as the guru of personal branding. His article on personal branding 101 lays out why you should have a personal brand, what to consider as you are developing it, and how to create and market your brand. Check out this article, Personal Branding 101 and his blog for more information on personal branding.

About.Me and Free Business Cards

I discovered About.me through building this WordPress site. From Wikipedia, here is a descriptions of about.me:

about.me  is a personal web hosting service. The site offers registers users a simple platform from which to link multiple online identities, relevant external site, and popular social networking websites such as Facebook, Flickr, google+, LinkedIn twitter, tumblr, and YouTube. It is characterized by its one-page user profiles, each with a large, often-artistic background image and abbreviated biography. 

What I like best about the site is that you can view the profiles from people all over the world, and the creativity is really inspiring. I created an about.me profile and linked it to my blog, and my LinkedIn profile. I still have more work to do as far as linking it many of the other social media options. Another great feature of about.me is that you can get free business cards. How many times have you been at a networking event or a coffee meeting and wished that you had a business card to give out? About.me has partnered with moo.com to offer the free business cards. Click here for more information.

If you are like me, the hardest part of developing your personal brand may be figuring out the message that you want to get across. You want to stay “open” to lots of different types of opportunities because you feel like that it what you have to do in this job market. But, the most effective message is one that is focused and direct. I still struggle with how to do this, and would love to hear others thoughts on this.

Check out the resources on personal branding and get started today!

photo credit: captcreate via photopin cc

2 Responses to “Build Your Personal Brand”

  1. Tom McCollum March 13, 2013 at 11:10 am #

    Well said and spot on! I enjoyed your insights––thanks for sharing.

    Tom

  2. Lisa M. March 13, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

    Thanks Tom!

Leave a Reply

Seth Godin's Blog on marketing, tribes and respect

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Nic Freeman

Sharing the wonders of travel & everyday adventures

The Unwitting Traveller

Opportunistic Travel Photography and Occasional Geo-Tourism

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

The Traveling Writer

Alexis Grant on writing, travel & other adventures

Gigaom

Technology news, trends and analysis covering mobile, big data, cloud, science, energy and media

Goins, Writer

On Writing, Ideas, and Making a Difference

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

foldedspace

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Comments for Copyblogger

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Mr. Money Mustache

Early Retirement through Badassity

ProBlogger

Blog Tips to Help You Make Money Blogging - ProBlogger

JobMob

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

Change Your Life | The Change Blog

How to change your life

CAREEREALISM

Career and Job Search Blog

Freelance Folder

How to survive unemployment and thrive in the new economy

